January 30 - May 25, 2017
Monday – Thursday: 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Closed: Sundays, Holidays, and Spring Break
Holidays: Friday, February 17 and Monday, February 20
Spring Break: March 25 - April 2, 2017
Quick Links for Rio Hondo College Art History Students
Rio Hondo General Links
- Library Home Page
- College Home Page
- Library Catalog
- Databases (Access Anywhere!)
- Databases (AccessRio)
- Research Paper Topics
- Borrow Books from the CSULA Library
- Other Libraries
Rio Hondo Databases For Art History
- ARTstor Digital
Create an account on campus first
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) NEW!
- Films on Demand
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- JSTOR - NEW!!
- Oxford Art Online
See username & password in AccessRio or contact a librarian: 562.908.3484
Other Reliable Recommended Sources
- The Getty Center
- The Getty Villa
- Los Angeles Museum of Art
- Los Angeles Public Libary Wilson Art Index
You will need a LAPL card or contact Adele or Stephanie for a consult.
- Metropolitan Museum Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
- Google Scholar
- Google Books
Organizing Your Research - Keep Track of Your Work!
Each Online Library Database has a function for storing your material and provides citation creator. You can also use Zotero to collect and store all items related to your research:
Zotero download as a stand-alone app for your computer or use as an add-on to the FireFox browser
General (some files require Abobe Reader)
Online Database Login
Wall Fragment with Winged Female (Nike) on Black Ground, 50 -79 C.E.
Understand the assignment
What does your research require?
- A description and or definition of the topic?
- A history of the growth or development of the subject matter?
- Analysis of issues related to the topic?
- Taking a stand on an issue and providing persuasive arguments?
- Statistics, case studies, photos, biographical information?
- When is it due?
What types of resources must you use?
- Books, including encyclopedias
- Journals vs. magazine articles
- Internet Web sites
How are you supposed to cite your sources of information?
- MLA, APA, other citation style?
Select your topic
Given your assigned question, how can you arrive at a researchable thesis statement that you can discuss in a well-argued paper?
- What is the minimum number of pages expected for the assignment?
- Is your thesis statement too broad? Too narrow?
Identify keywords and concepts
Keywords and concepts describe the main idea(s) of your topic and enable you to focus your research.
- Based on your assigned texts, jot down the terms that you identify as the keywords and main concepts.
- Use background information from reference sources such as the Gale Virtual Reference Library to find additional keywords and synonyms.
- Group the keywords by concept.
- Identify synonyms of your keywords (e.g., synonyms for "teenagers" are adolescents, youths, and children).