Birthday Assignment Survey
Controversial Topics Books
Take the Plagiarism Survey 1Intentional PlagiarismDefinitionsUnintentional PlagiarismConsequencesResearch Tips to Avoid PlagiarismLinksTake the Plagiarism Survey 2
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "SPCH 101 - Wendy - January Intersession 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SPCH 101 - Wendy - January Intersession 2017   Tags: speech, speech 101, wendy lai  

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.riohondo.edu/SPCH101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Quick Links

Library Home Page
College Home Page
Library Catalog
Databases (Access Anywhere!)
Databases (AccessRio)
Research Paper Topics
Borrow Books from the CSULA Library

Other Libraries

Below is a sample of the login screen for off-campus access to library databases.  Use your AccessRio login and password.

 

Library Hours

LIBRARY HOURS

January Intersession 2017

January 3 - January 26, 2017

Monday –Friday: 7:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Closed: Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays

Holiday: Monday, January 16, 2017 (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)

 

 

Understand the assignment

What does your research require?

  • A description and or definition of the topic?
  • A history of the growth or development of the subject matter?
  • Analysis of issues related to the topic?
  • Taking a stand on an issue and providing persuasive arguments?
  • Statistics, case studies, photos, biographical information?
  • When is it due?

What types of resources must you use?

  • Books, including encyclopedias
  • Journals vs. magazine articles
  • Internet websites

How are you supposed to cite your sources of information?

  • MLA, APA, other citation style?
 

Sources for Background Reading

  • Reference books; look at the table of contents and index for ideas

  • General encyclopedias such as World Book Encyclopedia (in the Library) to locate a broad topic

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library for subject encyclopedias and reference books online

  • Subject (specialized) encyclopedias from the Library - Reference Books area - Use the catalog to locate
 

Identify keywords and concepts

Keywords and concepts describe the main idea(s) of your topic and enable you to focus your research.

  • Based on your assigned texts, jot down the terms that you identify as the keywords and main concepts.
  • Use background information from reference sources such as the Gale Virtual Reference Library to find additional keywords and synonyms.
  • Group the keywords by concept.
  • Identify synonyms of your keywords (e.g., synonyms for "teenagers" are adolescents, youths, and children).

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Adele Enright, MLS, MA
Contact Info
Library: 562-908-3484
Office: 562-908.3377
Send Email
Contact me for addtional help:
email or phone me to request a research consultation appt.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip