This is the "Home" page of the "Got Articles - Online Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Got Articles - Online Databases   Tags: got_articles? online_databases  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2015 URL: http://libguides.riohondo.edu/content.php?pid=671697 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

LIBRARY HOURS

Spring 2017

January 30 - May 25, 2017

Monday – Thursday: 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Friday: 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Closed: Sundays, Holidays, and Spring Break

Holidays: Friday, February 17 and Monday, February 20
Spring Break: March 25 - April 2, 2017

 

Definition

Database

A large, regularly updated file of digitized information (bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.) related to a specific subject or field, consisting of records of uniform format organized for ease and speed of search and retrieval and managed with the aid of database management system (DBMS) software. Content is created by the database producer (for example, the American Psychological Association), which usually publishes a print version (Psychological Abstracts) and leases the content to one or more database vendors (EBSCO, OCLC, etc.) that provide electronic access to the data after it has been converted to machine-readable form (PsycINFO), usually on CD-ROM or online via the Internet, using proprietary search software.

Most databases used in libraries are catalogs, periodical indexes, abstracting services, and full-text reference resources leased annually under licensing agreements that limit access to registered borrowers and library staff. Abbreviated db. Compare with data bank. See also: archival database, bibliographic database, embedded database, metadatabase, and niche database.


From: ODLIS: Online Dictionary or Library and Information Science
Copyright © 2004-2014 by Joan M. Reitz. All Rights Reserved. Publisher: ABC-CLIO.

Simple stated: a collection of records/items that are searchable by keyword, subject, etc.

 

Overview

  • The key to being a savvy online searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines.

  • This is important because searching library databases is a bit different from searching Google.

  • The techniques described in this LibGuide will enable you to quickly retrieve relevant information from the thousands of records in a database.

  • When you search a database and do not get the results you expect, ask a Librarian for assistant.  We are happy to help you find what you need!

  • See our hours and contact information on this page.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Adele Enright, MLS, MA
Contact Info
Library: 562-908-3484
Office: 562-908.3377
Send Email
Contact me for addtional help:
email or phone me to request a research consultation appt.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip