This is the "Library Databases" page of the "ENGL 201 - Bill Curington - Fall 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 201 - Bill Curington - Fall 2015  

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.riohondo.edu/curington Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Tips

Most databases give you the following options/functions with your articles:

  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Folder
  • Cite/Citation
  • Share
  • Save or Download

Example Menu:

                  

 

Citations through databases

Most databases have a cite or citation button for each article.  When you click on the cite/citation button (example), the database will generate a citation for you in any format of your choosing. 

Typically, for humanities or liberal arts courses you will use MLA and for social science courses you will use APA.

Once you've selected your format of choice, you may use this citation in your own Works Cited, as a guide.  It is important to note that there are sometimes mistakes with this citation generator; you must review the citation and ensure that the formatting is correct.

 

Access Databases From Home

To access the databases from home, log into your Access Rio account,

then click on the Library tab.

access-rio-logo-blk-yellow

 

Popular Databases

  • Academic Search Premier 

    A research database that contains articles from a large collection of academic peer-reviewed journals in many areas
    Off-campus users
    On-campus users

  • CQ Researcher
  • has full-text articles about current topics.  This is the online version of the print (paper) publication CQ Researcher. The paper version can be found in the Library Periodical Reading area.
    On-campus
    Off-campus users

 

Other Search Tips

You can also use quotation marks ("  ") to specificially search a phrase.  This helps to further limit your searches; for example, if you type in the words air pollution, the computer will look for any result with the word air and any with the word pollution, but if you search "air pollution" the computer will look for that combination of words together.

By using an asterisk ( * ), a.k.a TRUNCATION, it tells the system to search for any word that begins with the letters before the asterisk; for example, imag* tells the computer to look for imageimagesimagineimaging, etc.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip