This is the "About databases" page of the "Got Articles? Using Online Databases Workshop" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Got Articles? Using Online Databases Workshop  

Discover how to do basic and advanced searches for articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals. The Library has online databases with millions of articles, even articles from e-books.
Last Updated: Nov 23, 2015 URL: http://libguides.riohondo.edu/gotarticlesworkshoprivas Print Guide RSS Updates

About databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

List of Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier

A research database that contains articles from a large collection of academic peer-reviewed journals in many areas


Off-campus users
On-campus users

CQ Researcher
has full-text articles about current topics.  This is the online version of the print (paper) publication CQ Researcher. The paper version can be found in the Library Periodical Reading area.


On-campus
Off-campus users


Gales Opposing Viewpoints
Opinion and periodical articles on social issues.


On-campus users
Off-campus users

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Articles from encyclopedia and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.


On-campus users
Off-campus users

EBSCO 
Extensive research database that contains articles from a variety of disciplines.


On-campus users
Off-campus users

ProQuest 
A research database covering social issues, business, health, science, economics, current events and more.


On-campus users
Off-campus users

SIRS 
Articles on current and controversial issues from popular magazines, newspapers, and government publications.


On-campus users
Off-campus users

 

Using Online Databases

In this workshop, you will learn how to begin the research process by using the online databases available through the Rio Hondo College Library.  Every database is unique in the information it provides but most of the features/tools are the same.  You will learn how to navigate different databases to obtain general results and more specific results based on your topic of choice.

 

What is a database?

Database

"A large, regularly updated file of digitized information (bibliographic records, abstracts, full-text documents, directory entries, images, statistics, etc.) related to a specific subject or field, consisting of records of uniform format organized for ease and speed of search and retrieval and managed with the aid of database management system (DBMS) software. Content is created by the database producer (for example, the American Psychological Association), which usually publishes a print version (Psychological Abstracts) and leases the content to one or more database vendors (EBSCO, OCLC, etc.) that provide electronic access to the data after it has been converted to machine-readable form (PsycINFO), usually on CD-ROM or online via the Internet, using proprietary search software.

Most databases used in libraries are catalogs, periodical indexes, abstracting services, and full-text reference resources leased annually under licensing agreements that limit access to registered borrowers and library staff. Abbreviated db. Compare with data bank. See also: archival database, bibliographic database, embedded database, metadatabase, and niche database."


From: ODLIS: Online Dictionary or Library and Information Science
Copyright © 2004-2014 by Joan M. Reitz. All Rights Reserved. Publisher: ABC-CLIO.

"Simply stated: a collection of records/items that are searchable by keyword, subject, etc."

- provided by A. Enright, RHC Library

 

Access Databases From Home

To access the databases from home, log into your Access Rio account,

then click on the Library tab.

access-rio-logo-blk-yellow

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Claudia Rivas
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip