Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 101 - Candida - Fall 2020: Library Databases & Scholarly Articles

Popular v. Scholarly Articles

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources (Video)

Getting Started

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Find credible background information from subject-specific reference encyclopedias. All online! It's scholarly Wikipedia!

Databases that Present Both Sides

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Offers full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals covering current social issues.

SIRS

Articles on current and controversial issues from popular magazines, newspapers, and government publications.

CQ Researcher

In-depth reports written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

EBSCO

Search magazine, news, and scholarly articles from a variety of inter-disciplinary databases provided by EBSCO.

ProQuest

Find local, national, and alt-press newspaper articles here!

Even More Useful Databases!

Films on Demand

Database featuring a wide variety of film documentaries and interview content. 

Gale Literature Resource Center

An excellent resource for literary criticism, biographies, story plot summaries, and primary literature sources.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Online Library Databases

Image result for scholarly article meme

For a list of our databases, CLICK HERE!

Off-Campus Database Access

When you are at home, you will be asked to enter your Access Rio ID and password before our databases load.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.