Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 102 - Gunderson - Spring 2021: Finding Articles in Databases

Databases

Use databases to find online sources and articles about your topic. Use the following databases to start searching!

  • EBSCO is a premium research database that contains articles from a variety of disciplines.
    • America: History & Life
    • Academic Search Premier
    • European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750
  • JSTOR  gives you access to scholarly journals from various disciplines.
    • History
    • Geography
    • African-American Studies
    • American Studies

o learn more about and access all of our databases, go to the Library's Online Databases page.

A-Z List of Databases

SEARCH TIPS

  • Use quotations to search for a phrase such "Bacon's Rebellion".
  • When you find an article, take a look at its Subject terms or Descriptors. By clicking on a Subject term, the database will search for other similar sources.

Topic examples

Some example keywords and research topics:

Keyword to try a search on your own:

Cold War     Enlightenment      European Monarchies and Absolutism     French Revolution 

Globalization      Imperialism and Colonialism      Industrial Revolution      Nation-Building

World War I         World War II

Email Articles

Choose Email from the Tools, to email an article to yourself. 

Example Searches

The links will prompt you to login with your Canvas login.    See example below.

 

Tools for Databases

 

Tools allow you to Cite, Print, Email or Download articles