Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDEV 151 - Gaw - Spring 2021: Find Articles

Popular Databases

  • EBSCO Extensive research database that contains articles from a variety of disciplines.
  • ProQuest A research database covering social issues, business, health, science, economics, current events and more.
  • SIRS Issue Researcher Articles on current and controversial issues from popular magazines, newspapers, and government publications.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Opinion and periodical articles on social issues.
  • CQ Researcher Reports with overview, analysis, bibliographies, and pro/con debates.
  • Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Articles from encyclopedia and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.
  • ARTstor Digital Library Images, copyright cleared for educational use.

Search Tips

SEARCH TIPS

  • If you’re not finding anything with your chosen keywords, try searching synonyms, related words, or different forms of the same word.
  • When you find an article, take a look at its Subject terms or Descriptors. By clicking on a Subject term, the database will search for other similar sources.
  • You can also use quotation marks ("  ") to specificially search a phrase.  This helps to further limit your searches; for example, if you type in the words air pollution, the database will look for any result with the word air and any with the word pollution, but if you search "air pollution" the database will look for that combination of words together.
  • By using an asterisk ( * ), a.k.a TRUNCATION, it tells the system to search for any word that begins with the letters before the asterisk; for example, imag* tells the computer to look for imageimagesimagineimaging, etc.

Off-Campus Access

Access from Home
(and off-campus)

To access online databases OFF-CAMPUS, please click on the database name and enter your Access Rio username and password.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.

Related Documents

NON-Narrated Scholarly vs Popular Sources Google Slides

Narrated Scholarly vs Popular Sources Presentation

The narrated presentation above is approximately 15 minutes in length.

Below are the links to the YouTube videos missing from the narrated presentation. Please watch these if you are taking the Quiz as there are questions that are directly connected to these videos:

Popular vs. Scholarly

What are the differences between a popular magazine/newspaper article vs. a scholarly article? Review this handout to get a better understanding!

QUIZ for Scholarly vs Popular Sources Presentation