Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPCH 101 - Lai - Fall 2022: Charts, Graphs, Statistics

Library Quick Links

Library Home Page
College Home Page
Library Catalog
Databases (Access Anywhere!)
Databases (AccessRio)
Research Paper Topics
Borrow Books from the CSULA Library

Below is a sample of the login screen for off-campus access to library databases.  Use your AccessRio login and password.

Databases Searching Tips: Charts, Graphs, Images, Statistics for a Persuasive Speech

  • Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) 
    1. Use the "Browse Issues" link to find a topic or use the search box and enter you topic. 
    2. The topic information is grouped by type of information. 
    3. Look for headings: statistics, infographics, images, videos, or audio.
       
  • SIRS - Statistics
  1. After doing a search on your topic, go to left side bar to see the box titled: “Sort By”. 
  2. Look under “Source Type” for heading/link “Images”, this is where you can find charts, graphs, images.
     
  • Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
    1. Use the "Advanced Search" function.
    2. Type in your search terms
    3. Select (check mark) the box to "Document contains images."
       
  • ProQuest
    1. Type in your seach terms
    2. Scroll down the screen to:  "Document Type" and:
    3. Select (check mark): "Image" or "Statistics/Data Report".
    4. Press "Search".
       
  • EBSCO
    1. Type in your seach terms
    2. Scroll down the screen to:  "Limit your results" and:
    3. Select (check mark): "Image Quick View".
    4. Press "Search".

Example of Films on Demand Embedded Video Clip

Video Clips from Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides online, streaming access to thousands of documentaries, educational films, and news reels.  You can browse collections or search for specific topics and easily add relevant video segments into your presentation. These clips may be freely used by Rio Hondo College students.

Access the Films on Demand database

Statistics From Web Sources

Still Images from the Web

Flickr http://www.flickr.com

Photo sharing website with images for just about any topic

 

Wikimedia Commons http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

A searchable database of over 7 million digital media files