Skip to Main Content

ART 104 - Lewis - Fall 2022: Library Databases & Scholarly Articles

Online Library Databases

Image result for scholarly article meme

For a list of our databases, CLICK HERE!

Off-Campus Database Access

When you are at home, you will be asked to enter your Access Rio ID and password before our databases load.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.

Getting Started (Background Reading)

Gale Ebooks

Find credible background information from subject-specific reference encyclopedias. All online! It's scholarly Wikipedia!

Art History Databases

‚ÄčJSTOR

Specializing in arts and humanities, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.

Oxford Art Online

Features Oxford's art reference works, along with over 200,000 articles and art images. Access using username and password in AccessRio (Library Tab).

ARTstor

Extensive collection of images, copyright cleared for educational use. Create an account on campus first.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases + More!

EBSCO

Search magazine, news, and scholarly articles from a variety of inter-disciplinary databases provided by EBSCO.

ProQuest

Find local, national, and alt-press newspaper articles here!

Films on Demand

Features a large variety of documentary, educational, and disipline-focused videos for streaming

 

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Types of Articles (Popular vs. Scholarly) Handout

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources (Video)

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles (Video)