Skip to Main Content

SOC 101 - Brutlag - Spring 2023: Find Articles

Popular v. Scholarly Articles

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources (Video)

How to Read a Scholarly Article

What does Peer Review mean?

Finding Articles (Start Here!)

Watch the video below for information on finding scholarly articles and accessing library databases.

Click on the "Find Articles" tab and navigate the drop-down menu for further information on these databases:

  • SocINDEX/EBSCO
  • PsycARTICLES/ProQuest
  • Google Scholar

 

Places to Find Articles

printout of articles from library databases

Use databases to find online sources and articles about your topic. Use the following databases to start searching!‚Äč

To learn more about and access all of our databases, go to the Library's Online Databases page.

Google Scholar logo

Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly literature across multiple disciplines. Unlike regular Google searches, your results will contain articles, theses, books, and more from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

To change Google Scholar settings (for more access to articles)...

Step 1: Access Google Scholar at https://scholar.google.com

Step 2: Go to menu at upper-left corner of home page. Click on "Settings"

Step 3: Select Library Links from options

Step 4: Type in Rio Hondo College and hit search, then select all available boxes. This will grant access to a greater number of subscription databases and articles!

SEARCH TIPS

  • If you’re not finding anything with your chosen keywords, try searching synonyms, related words, or different forms of the same word.
  • When you find an article, take a look at its Subject terms or Descriptors. By clicking on a Subject term, the database will search for other similar sources.
  • Use quotations to change your keyword search to a phrase search (example: "police brutality" in quotes searches these two words together).

Online Library Databases

Image result for scholarly article meme

For a list of our databases, CLICK HERE!

Off-Campus Access

Access from Home
(and off-campus)

To access online databases OFF-CAMPUS, please click on the database name and enter your Access Rio username and password.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.