ENGL 101- Okamoto- Fall 2024: Research Tips

• Choose a topic which has at least two sides.

• Provide background to the issue to help the audience understand the debate.

• Use unbiased sources to defend your view with reason, accuracy, fairness and relevant evidence.

• Know and address your opposition.

• Present an impressive conclusion.

Start by Doing Background Reading:
First, you need to do background reading. Doing so at the beginning of your research helps you understand your topic right from the start. You will be able to put your topic in context and create research questions that drive your search for information. In addition, when you continue researching you will know if what you find is relevant and useful.

You need to begin understanding your topic early in order to know:

1. What information you need to find
2. Whether or not what you are finding is relevant
3. What search terms will lead to successful searches
4. What information is reliable

You do not have to read a lot of books to get this valuable background information. In addition to reference books that you'll find in the library OneSearch, you can use articles and book chapters from the library's online databases of articles and reference e-books.  Listed to the right are selected background resources.

Conduct your pre-research by using some general and discipline-specific reference sources:

1. Reference books; look at the table of contents and index for ideas
2. General encyclopedias such as World Book Encyclopedia (in the Library) to locate a broad topic
3. General e-books such as Encyclopedia Britannica to locate a broad topic
4. Gale Virtual Reference Library for subject encyclopedias and reference books online
5. Subject (specialized) encyclopedias from the Library - Reference Books area - Use the catalog to locate
6. Subject Guides from the Rio Hondo College Library Website
7. Hot topics from the Rio Hondo College Library Subject Guides page
8. Lists of Topics from the Rio Hondo College Website

Develop a general or broad topic from your background reading

From your general topic and readings you can begin to develop a refined topic that will developed into a thesis statement or research question.

If your topic is too broad begin to narrow/refine it by adding an aspect of the topic, a time period, limit it to a location/geography, population, etc.

Below is an example of narrowing the topic of Prisons:

Arrive at a researchable thesis or research question
Given your assigned question, how can you arrive at a researchable thesis statement that you can discuss in a well-argued paper?

• What is the minimum number of pages expected for the assignment?
• Is your thesis statement too broad?  Too narrow?