Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Amazing Educational Resources
Select POST-SECONDARY or ADULT LEARNING, then subject category.
Canva for Education
Create presentations, infographics, websites, reports, worksheets, posters, flyers and signage with Canva for Education. Canva is offering a super-charged version of Canva to classrooms for free. Register your class to unlock the best teaching tools Canva has to offer – from classroom collaboration to folders that help you stay organized.
Khan + Create Activities
Adobe educators in collaboration with Khan Academy offer activities. Select HIGHER ED.
Free Google Slides and PowerPoint templates to boost your presentations.
3CSN Wayfinding Online Zoom Series
As a way to leverage community in this unprecedented pivot to virtual learning, the California Community Colleges' Success Network launched the 3CSN Wayfinding Online Zoom Series. This series was created by practitioners for practitioners (and students, too) and continues to grow from the needs that are identified in community with colleagues across the state. Topics covered include: Zoom 101, Canvas 101, Feedback tools, Canvas Discussion Tools (including Discussions and Collaborations), TED-Ed and other Multimedia, Canvas Gradebook,& etc.
AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
Beyond Benign: Green Chemistry Education
Sustainable science and green chemistry resources from Beyond Benign and partners. All links are open access.
Free videos, printable models, editable presentations, case studies and articles on various biology, biotech, and life science topics.
CSHL DNA Learning Center
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory’s DNA Learning Center presents online educational programming as a service to help engage teachers and students during coronavirus school closures. Livestreams and recordings of biology labs aimed at grades 5-12th and college, with more features (such as interviews with scientists) to come.
MyOpenMath is a free, open source, online course management system for mathematics and other quantitative fields. Its primary emphasis is to facilitate the creation and implementation of online homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content.
The National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.
Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
@ONE (The Online Network of Educators)
@ONE is coordinated by the professional development team of the CCC California Virtual Campus-Online Education Initiative (CVC-OEI). It provides training and professional development to support the effective use of digital tools and platforms to make California Community Colleges a nationally recognized leader in online teaching and learning.
Academy of Inquiry Based Learning
The Academy of Inquiry Based Learning (AIBL) is a community of college math instructors, math teachers, and supporters of inquiry-based learning funded by the National Science Foundation project, PRODUCT. One of the goals of AIBL is to improve undergraduate math education via increasing the use of IBL methods across a wide range of courses and institutional environments. AIBL hosts summer workshops and is creating a series of videos to help college math instructors learn about IBL via a virtual workshop.
Get Started Now: Adobe Creativity in Every Class
This free online course is aimed at all educators looking to get started using Adobe Creative Cloud software to engage students and develop their digital creative skills. The course is self-paced, so you can learn at your own speed, and should take no longer than 3 hours to complete (free enrollment until 12/31/21).
COVID-19 Contact Tracing Course + Certificate
COVID-19 Contact Tracing course and certificate offered for free by Johns Hopkins University through Coursera.
Vision Resource Center (VRC)
The VRC offers virtual professional learning on thousands of topics via “LinkedIn Learning” (formally Lynda) and “SkillSoft” that is free and open to all California Community college employees. Use your RHC email to create an account.
Audio & Visual Tools
8x8 Video Meetings is free and web-based. It's available to anyone, globally, at no cost. It's a helpful tool in the event of school closures, event cancellations or for quickly implementing virtual learning environments. Visit https://8x8.vc/, name your meeting and click start. It’s that easy. No need to share an email address or download software.
A digital whiteboard and annotation tool that transforms a Computer, Chromebook, iPad, or any mobile device into a powerful engagement, assessment, and participation tool. Instructors can record their sessions or create videos with annotations and voiceovers using the video creation tool and publish it to student accounts or share with Google Classroom.
Flipgrid is a free video discussion platform from Microsoft that helps educators see and hear from every student in class and foster a fun and supportive social learning environment. In Flipgrid, educators post discussion prompts and students respond with short videos, whether they are learning in class or at home.
MERLOT provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Allows students to study information via learning tools and games. Quizlet trains students via flashcards and various games and tests.
Communication, Language, Social Science Resources
Open Textbook Library
All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost.
Open access publications are freely available online. High-level peer review, production and publishing processes. Authors retain copyright. Citation tracking and inclusion in bibliographic databases.
High-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.
Browse by institutions. Example: Chapman offers resources for undergraduate studies and has a free Feminist Zine archive
World Digital Library
Primary source materials from libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions around the world such as Content on the books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
Free resources from about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000. Has a timeline that highlights noteworthy events and social, political, and economic trends in the history of the United States from 1492 to the 20th century. https://www.wdl.org/en/sets/us-history/timeline/
Search Tips: WDL items can be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, language, and contributing institution. The search feature can be used to search all of the metadata and descriptions and the full text of printed books on the site.
Offers 1,000+, original, peer-reviewed articles and a forum for faculty to share their courses and projects, and a forum to publish the work of students.
General Faculty Resources
World Bank Open Data
This site provides an array of real-time data, statistical indicators, and other types of data that are relevant to the coronavirus pandemic. These data are drawn from the World Bank’s data catalog and other authoritative sources.Here is the direct URL to Covid data http://datatopics.worldbank.org/universal-health-coverage/coronavirus/
Search Tip: The easiest way to look for data is to use the search box at the top of the page.You can search for indicator names, countries, and topics. The search box shows you a list of matching results as you enter text; simply select one of the matching terms to instantly display the result. Note that you can only display one indicator at a time.You can look at combinations of indicators and countries or multiple countries by adding additional items in the search box. However, you can only display one indicator at a time. To start over, click the home icon Home button to the right of the search box. You can also browse lists of countries, topics and indicators, which can be found in the site menu.