Database Articles & Sources - HST 144 - Gunderson - Fall 2024

General Academic Databases

Find scholarly articles for your research - using RHC Library Databases on a broad range of topics!

Search magazine, news, and scholarly articles from a variety of inter-disciplinary databases provided by EBSCO.

Find scholarly journal articles, and also local, national, and alt-press newspaper articles here!

Analysis and opinions on the pros and cons of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

Opposing Viewpoints

Covers the pros and cons of social issues with features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles, statistics, document, images, and links to websites.

History Databases for HST 144

Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Includes content curated by topic.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
EBSCOhost (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly resources including archival and current journals, books, and primary sources in Archaeology, Art & Art History, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Education, History, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Law, Music, Philosophy, and Political Science.
Professional Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to a selection of full-text journals for educators on Arts and Humanities, Child and Adolescent Psychology and Development, Drug and Alcohol Abuse, Health/Nutrition/Fitness, Learning Disabilities, Literature, School Law, Science and Technology, Social Sciences, and Sports/Athletic Training.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic reference titles, books, and encyclopedias covering many subjects.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of books from a range of subjects.
Access for some ebooks limited to one reader at a time. If unable to view, try again later.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Digital versions of books from a range of subjects.

Favorite Primary Source Web Sites

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 750,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
Library of Congress, Digital Collections
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge.
National Archives
The National Archives is the U.S. Government’s collection of documents that records important events in American history. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the Government agency that preserves and maintains these materials and makes them available for research.

Online Library Databases

For a list of our databases, CLICK HERE!

Off-Campus Database Access

When you are at home, you will be asked to enter your Access Rio ID and password before our databases load.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.

Searching Techniques and Tips

Use boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)

Use advanced search and filter features

Email article links to yourself

Use citation generator (be careful!)

Create a keywords and related terms list to use in database search bars

Topic: How did African American participation in the Union and Confederate armies change during the course of the war?

Keyword:

African Americans

Keyword:

Union/Confederate

Keyword:

Civil War

Related Terms:

Emancipation Proclamation

freed slaves

soldiers

Related Terms:

North vs South

free states vs slaves states

Related Terms:

Secession

1861-1865

HST 144 - Gunderson - Fall 2024: Database Articles & Sources

General Academic Databases

History Databases for HST 144

Favorite Primary Source Web Sites

Online Library Databases

Off-Campus Database Access

Searching Techniques and Tips