Find Articles - ENGL 101 - Gallagher - Fall 2024 - Research Guides at Rio Hondo College

Recommended Research Databases

EBSCOhost (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
SIRS Issue Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Analysis and opinions on the pros and cons of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers the pros and cons of social issues with features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles, statistics, document, images, and links to websites.

To learn more about and access ALL of our databases, go to the Library's Online Databases page.

Access from Home
(and off-campus)

To access online databases OFF-CAMPUS, please click on the database name and enter your Access Rio username and password.

Note: If you don't know your Access Rio ID and password, please click here for login instructions.

Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic reference titles, books, and encyclopedias covering many subjects.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Digital versions of books from a range of subjects.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital versions of books from a range of subjects.
Access for some ebooks limited to one reader at a time. If unable to view, try again later.

Recommended Database for Streaming

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch videos, documentaries, movies, and shows on a variety of subjects online.

What are the differences between a popular magazine/newspaper article vs. a scholarly article? Review this handout to get a better understanding!

SEARCH TIPS

If you’re not finding anything with your chosen keywords, try searching synonyms, related words, or different forms of the same word.
When you find an article, take a look at its Subject terms or Descriptors. By clicking on a Subject term, the database will search for other similar sources.
You can also use quotation marks (" ") to specificially search a phrase. This helps to further limit your searches; for example, if you type in the words air pollution, the database will look for any result with the word air and any with the word pollution, but if you search "air pollution" the database will look for that combination of words together.
By using an asterisk ( * ), a.k.a TRUNCATION, it tells the system to search for any word that begins with the letters before the asterisk; for example, imag* tells the computer to look for image, images, imagine, imaging, etc.