Persuasive Speeches-Databases - SPCH 101 - Lai - Fall 2024 - Research Guides at Rio Hondo College

Library Quick Links

Library Home Page
College Home Page
OneSearch (Library Catalog)
Databases
Databases (AccessRio)
Research Paper Topics
Borrow Books from the CSULA Library

Below is a sample of the login screen for off-campus access to library databases. Use your AccessRio login and password.

Databases to use for Research for a Persuasive Speech

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers the pros and cons of social issues with features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles, statistics, document, images, and links to websites.
SIRS Issue Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Analysis and opinions on the pros and cons of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to electronic reference titles, books, and encyclopedias covering many subjects.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
EBSCOhost (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorials

SIRS Issues Researcher Tutorials

Examples of Magazines with a Conservative Point-of-View

National Review
Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.

American Spectator
A national opinion magazine reaching opinion leaders in business, government & media through its coverage & analysis of business, politics, economics, foreign policy & culture.

Human Events
News items of the week presented through eyes that favor limited constitutional government, local self-government, private enterprise and individual freedom

Examples of Magazines with a Liberal Point-of-View

Nation
A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.

Progressive
Investigative reporting, analysis and commentary on major issues of political, economic and social concern. A leading voice for peace and social justice in America.

Mother Jones
Presents articles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book