Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Databases: Other Sources

Full-text Articles and Citations

 

·     DOAJ
Searchable full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals

·     NIAAA
Contains more than 130,000 records on alcohol and alcoholism

·     Google Scholar
Peer-reviewed online journals plus scholarly books - many for free

·     HighWire Press
Biological, physical, medical, and social science journal articles
*Look for PDF's with no cost in results list

·     JURN Directory
3000 links to selected arts & humanities ejournals

·     Mag Portal
Point of entry to 150 freely available popular magazines on the Internet

·     PubMed
More than 21 million citations to biomedical and life science literature

·     Science.gov
Portal to citations for government research in all areas of science

Books

Database Use from Other Libraries

Note: You MUST have a library card to access databases from these libraries.

Los Angeles Public Library

County of Los Angeles Public Library

Reference Sources

· Artcyclopedia
Artists and artworks in museum collections, browse by periods and movements

· Country Studies
Describes social, economic, political, and national security systems of countries

· Dictionary of Philosophical Terms
Covers the terms and names used in the study of philosophy.

· Education Statistics At A Glance
Analysis of the state of education in the U.S. and comparisons to other countries

· Encyclopedia Britannica
General reference on all subjects

· Encyclopedia of Earth
Contains content on the earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society

· Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy

· Social Science Data Search
Statistics on social sciences, health, developing countries, energy, natural resources, and the environment

· Social Sciences Dictionary
Definitions and basic concepts of more than 6000 terms related to the social sciences

· U.S. Census Bureau
Statistics on U.S. population, housing, economy, and geography

· Virtual Reference Shelf
Links to quality reference sources on the Internet

· World Factbook
Factual information and maps for every country in the world

Open Educational Resources (OER)

For OER information and resources, check out our OER research guide at: https://libguides.riohondo.edu/oer

Find freely available OER textbooks and resources by searching the following sites: