Services for Faculty and Staff

Books, articles, and audiovisual materials in the reserve collection are intended to assist students in the short-term use of required textbooks and readings for their classes. Reserve materials are not intended to substitute for students’ purchase of their own personal copies.

The reserve collection is located behind the Circulation Desk of the Library on the 2nd floor of the LRC.

Library staff barcode and label all items and security-strip all textbooks. Students must present their Río Hondo Student ID card or a government issued ID with their Student ID number or a government issued ID with proof of registration.

Default loan period for reserve items is 2-hour in-library use only. Two other checkout options are available:

• 1-day checkout with a one-time renewal
• 7-day checkout with a one-time renewal

Since the reserve collection is heavily used, staff may do minor mending when needed to maintain reserve textbooks in a reasonable condition. Please be aware that we cannot monitor how students use reserve material. Unless it is obviously apparent, a damaged item may go unnoticed by library staff until students bring it to our attention.

1. Place a textbook or other course material in the reserve collection by filling out the Reserve Request Form.
   • Make sure to bring the book or course material to the Circulation Desk or deliver to us via campus mail or via proxy.
2. The Library may already own your assigned books or audiovisual materials as part of the circulating collection that students can check out. If you are not certain, check the library’s OneSearch or call (562) 908-3484 to ask a reference librarian. If you would like to place any library-owned books, videos, or other materials in the reserve collection, please contact your Division Liaison. The Library can move these materials from the circulating collection to the reserve collection for equitable access by our students. Any library-owned item, however, can only be checked out for 2 hours in-library use only.
3. All reserve items, whether owned by faculty or the Library, are subject to the Fair Use Provision of Title 17 Section 107 of the U.S. Code. This means, for example, that:
   • The Library will not accept duplicated or “burned” discs or personally taped VHS copies of copyrighted video material.
   • All photocopied articles and audiovisual materials must comply with current copyright laws and include a full bibliographic citation of the source.
4. All items brought in to be placed on reserve must be “checkout ready” (i.e., paperbacks or fragile items should be reinforced, any loose-leaf sheets should be placed in a binder or folder, and DVD/CD discs should be in an appropriate disc case).
5. Please allow up to 2 days for processing reserve material from the time that you bring it in. The earlier you bring in your materials for the collection, the sooner your students can have access to them.

Student privileges will be suspended and you will be notified if a student:

• Fails to return an instructor’s copy of any reserve item, regardless of its loan period.
• Appears to have purposefully vandalized or damaged a reserve item, as determined by library staff.

Should you choose to modify the checkout periods to accommodate a student, please call the Circulation Desk at (562) 908-3416 or personally accompany the student to the Circulation Desk. We will not accept a written note from a student.

Reserve textbooks are kept in the collection for as long as you indicate in the Reserve Request Form. You can pick up your materials at the Circulation Desk or have the library return them to you via campus mail. The library gladly accepts donations of textbooks and other course materials.