OER & ZTC: Finding OER

The ASCCC OERI website contains a wealth of resources for California Community College OER developers and users.

Looking for a site that has everything? This is it.

Resources Page: Includes information about the following ASCCC OERI supported resources:

• OER Repositories & Collections for California Community Colleges (including OER by Discipline, OER by CSU General Education, C-ID, and more)
• OER Quick Guides: Includes easy steps to look for open content, aggregated OER collections, open textbooks, authoring tools, open media collections, and more! 
• OER and ZTC: Current information about the CCC ZTC Degree grant programs
• OER and Success: Contains local and national data about OER use, equity, and cost savings
• OER Advocacy: How to advocate for OER to faculty and administrators
• OER and Students: Resources for engaging students, including advocacy toolkits, activities, surveys and resolutions
• OER, Articulation, and Curriculum: Information about articulating OER into courses
• OER Development: A wealth of resources for OER developers, including information about accessibility/universal design, development platforms, publishing, ancillary development, homework systems, image sources, etc.
• Legislation and Current Events and Local OER-Related Resolutions: A listing of state and local senate resolutions supporting the use of OER and ZTC Degrees
• Webinars & Events: Information about upcoming ASCCC OERI webinars and events, with an extensive archive of recorded webinars

OER are basically anything you can utilize in a course that are open-licensed and free to adopt/adapt - from full courses to textbooks, from individual modules to media components.  Unfortunately, there isn't a single tool that harvests everything for us, so below are recommended metafinder resources that you can use to help identify OER materials (italicized links indicate California-based resources).

• OER Commons: A public digital library of OER. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum. (ISKME, non-profit org.)
• LibreTexts: Provides access to OER resources and a platform for faculty to curate and compile resources. (UC Davis)
• MERLOT: The "Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching" provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers. MERLOT is a “referratory”, providing links to resources houses elsewhere. (CSU OER Program)
• California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4ED):  Faculty from the University of California, the California State University, and the California Community Colleges have worked together to provide easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning. (CSU Office of the Chancellor)
• OpenStax: OpenStax offers a collection of high quality open textbooks. (Rice University)
• Open Textbooks Library: The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. (Univ. of MN Center for Open Education)
• OASIS: Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 115 different sources. (SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library)
• Mason OER Metafinder (MOM): Provides a real-time federated search for OER content across 18 different sources of open educational materials. (George Mason Univ.) 
• MIT OpenCourseWare: consists of open-licensed electronic versions of print books, self-published online books, and course notes which are so thorough that they may serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
• BC Campus Open Ed: A collection of open textbooks aligned with the top 40 highest-enrolled subject areas in British Columbia. (British Columbia, Canada)
• OER Textbooks (College of the Canyons)
• Open Oregon Educational Resources: Promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials (Oregon CCs & Universities)

Want more? See the ASCCC OERI "OER Repositories and Collections" page at: https://asccc-oeri.org/oer-repositories-and-collections/