This is the "Home" page of the "College Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

College Archives  

An overview of the Rio Hondo College Archives
Last Updated: May 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.riohondo.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Location and Hours of Operation


The Rio Hondo College Archives is located in the Rio Hondo College Library.  Hours of operation are the same as the Library.   Please see the Library website for current hours of operation.

 

Welcome!

This library guide was created to provide information about the Rio Hondo College Archives.

Rio Hondo College
Vision

Rio Hondo College strives to be an exemplary California community college, meeting the learning needs of its changing and growing population and developing a state of the art campus to serve future generations.

Mission

“Rio Hondo College is a collaborative center of lifelong learning which provides innovative, challenging, and quality educational offerings for its diverse students and community.”
(Mission Statement revised 12/13/05)

Introduction


The Archives serves the Rio Hondo College community in the preservation of materials that are significant to the historical memory of the College. 

Archives Mission & Goals


The Archives mission and goals are to:

  • Collect, describe, preserve, maintain, and make available online selected College publications, documents, images, and artifacts that are of historical value and of educational interest to the College community.   
  • Serve as a resource to the College community to promote understanding of and education about the history of Rio Hondo College. 
  • Improve access to archival materials through a process of ongoing digitization.

Through its collection and services, the Archives promote the mission of the College to be a “collaborative center of lifelong learning which provides innovative, challenging, and quality educational offerings for its diverse students.”

Archives Collection Development


Items that ARE collected for the Archives:

  • Education Master Plans
  • Board Policies
  • College Catalogs
  • Course Schedules (through 2009)
  • Accreditation Reports
  • Photographs, image files, reports, and ephemera that pertain to the early history and the ongoing development of the College
  • Artifacts that are unique and convey the history of Rio Hondo College

Items that are NOT collected for the Archives:

  • Personal Papers
  • Employee records
  • Electronic records maintained by the President’s Office, Human Resources, and other College departments
  • Board Minutes (maintained and held by the President’s Office)

Gifts and Donation Guidelines
Gifts and donations are welcome and should support the Archives mission and goals.   The Archives librarian will determine which donations are to be included in the Archives. 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Adele Enright
Contact Info
Library 562-908-3484
Send Email

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Gina Singh
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip