Research Guides: Native American Indian Heritage Month: Local History

Primary Source Collections

C. Hart Merriam Collection of Native American Photographs
The collection, consisting mostly of prints, is primarily photographs taken during Merriam's work documenting the languages of California Indian tribes. In this collection, 1,447 photographs of members of Californian tribes have been digitized and made available on the Internet.

General Archival Resources

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to more than 2,000 collections contributed by more than 300 cultural heritage organizations (libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies) in California. Each of these organizations has specific collection emphases, which may be informed by local history, activities, research interests, or other topics significant to its communities.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Books

The First Angelinos: The Gabrielino Indians of Los Angeles by William McCawley
Call Number: E99. G15 M34 1996
ISBN: 9780879191337
Publication Date: 1996
This is a definitive study of the pre-mission Gabrielinos religious beliefs and practices, the structure of their society, their political system, the ways they made a living, and their elegant arts and crafts.
O, My Ancestor: Recognition and Renewal for the Gabrielino-Tongva People of the Los Angeles Area by Claudia K. Jurmain; William McCawley
Call Number: E99. G15 J87 2009
ISBN: 9781597141154
Publication Date: 2009
Members of the Los Angeles area's Gabrielino-Tongva community reflect on what it means to be Gabrielino-Tongva today.
Of Sacred Lands and Strip Malls: The Battle for Puvungna by Ronald Loewe
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780759121621
Publication Date: 2016
Examines the acrimonious and costly conflict over control of Puvungna-land owned by California but sacred to several Native American tribes-and explores ongoing reverberations from the academic, political, and legal battles.
California's Gabrielino Indians by Bernice Johnston
Call Number: E99. G15 J6
ISBN: 9781013641268
Publication Date: 1962
Covers topics such as the Northwestern borderland, the Eastern borderland (a study of the cultural elements), the Southern borderland (a study of the religion), the seacoast and the rivers, the islands (Spanish exploration by sea), the great valleys (Spanish exploration by land), the mission period, the post-mission period, and theAmerican period and includes a map of Gabrielino area at time of Portola expedition.

Web Resources

Gabrielino-Tongva Indian Tribe
The Gabrielino-Tongva Indian Tribe website shares the history and historical landmarks of the tribe.
Tongva People
This website is a dynamic study of the villages and locations of the Gabrielino-Tongva Indians.
Yuhaaviatam of San Manuel Nation / San Manuel Band of Mission Indians
The Yuhaaviatam of San Manuel Nation is a federally recognized tribe of Serrano people in San Bernardino County, California. They are made up of the Yuhaaviatam clan (“People of the Pines") of Serrano people, who have historically lived in the San Bernardino Mountains. The tribe was formerly named the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians.
Juaneño Band of Mission Indians Acjachemen Nation
The website includes history and current information for the Acjachemen Nation.
Indigenous Voices of San Juan Capistrano: The Acjachemen (Juaneño) Community
Hosted by OC Public Libraries, this series captures videos of tribal members sharing their thoughts.
Mapping Indigenous LA: Place-Making Through Digital Storytelling
Uncovering multiple layers of indigenous Los Angeles through digital storytelling & oral history with community leaders, youth and elders from indigenous communities throughout the city.
“We Are Still Here,” A Report on Past, Present, and Ongoing Harms Against Local Tribes
In 2022, LANAIC met with designated representatives from five local Tribes. The report reflects the thoughts, wishes, needs, and recommendations of representatives from the Fernandeño Tataviam Band of Mission Indians, Gabrieleno/Tongva San Gabriel Band of Mission Indians, Gabrielino Tongva Indians of California Tribal Council, San Fernando Band of Mission Indians, and San Manuel Band of Mission Indians.

Local Organizations

American Indian Community Council
Serves as a centralized hub for resource to the Los Angeles County American Indian/Alaska Native Community.
California Indian Culture and Sovereignty Center
Fosters collaborative research and community service relationships between the faculty, staff, and students of CSU San Marcos and members of Tribal communities, for the purpose of developing and conducting research projects that support the maintenance of sovereignty and culture within those communities.
LA Skins Fest
A Native American film festival that takes place every year as part of the City of Los Angeles Celebration of Native American Heritage Month.
Southern California Indian Center
Serves the American Indian, Alaskan Native, and Native Hawaiian communities of Los Angeles, Orange, and Riverside Counties.
UCLA American Indian Studies Center
The core objectives of AISC are to: facilitate and disseminate research about indigenous peoples; strengthen graduate and undergraduate education; seek extramural funds to support student and faculty research; and carry out university and public service programs related to the Center’s mission.
United American Indian Involvement
To promote and support the physical, behavioral, and spiritual well-being of American Indian/Alaska Natives in the urban Los Angeles area by providing comprehensive, integrated services that focus on all age groups and incorporate American Indian/Alaska Native cultures and traditions.